African students in the seminar.

Update for ICIR Website:

Please note: applications for Intake 2021 has now closed. New calls for applications for intake 2022 will be advertised in October 2021!

Postgraduate (Master and PhD) Programmes eligible for In-Country/ In-Region Scholarship Programme in Eastern Africa 2022

The objective of this scholarship programme is to promote the development of university teaching staff in universities and build capacity for staff in the public sector through postgraduate training in selected postgraduate study programmes at the institutions listed below.

This programme strongly encourages mobility of Sub-Saharan Africans to study in host institutions within the Eastern Africa region. There are 16 participating host institutions in the Eastern African Region. Check the links below to the host countries, programmes funded, the link to the specific call for scholarship application and the links to the host institutions.

We strongly recommend applicants to apply to institutions outside their home countries.

Application process and procedures: the call for scholarship applications for intake 2022 will be released in October 2021. We advise you to carefully read the specific call for scholarship applications for the programme you are interested in and check the DAAD scholarship requirements before applying for the programme. Make sure that you are aware of the host institution’s admission requirements and reach out to the contact person indicated in the call for applications or check the links to the websites of the host institutions/universitties for more information.

How to apply: All applications must be made directly to the DAAD portal (for the scholarship) and a separate application must be made to the host institutions (for admission eligibility) into the programme. Each call for scholarship application has a direct link to the DAAD portal for the particular programme you are interested in.

Deadline for intake 2022: This will be communicated once the Call for applications is published. DAAD Portal application deadline: December 15th, 2021Please note that the host institutions will set their own deadlines.

Further Information

For questions related to the programme, please see our Frequently Asked Questions

We are also planning a series of web seminars on the scholarship application for the in-country/in-region scholarship programme Eastern Africa 2022,  where you can find more information. Details coming soon.

Please register here for our online seminars and choose the session suitable for you.


DAAD Regional Office Kenya: